Home > About H3D > Governance > Scientific and Management Advisory Board

Scientific and Management Advisory Board

H3D is an accredited University of Cape Town research centre within the Faculty of Science but with strong affiliations with the Faculty of Health Sciences and specifically the Division of Pharmacology and the Institute for Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine (IDM). H3D operates within UCT’s world-class translational medicine research environment. Independent of the university governance systems, three structures strategically guide and implement H3D’s scientific programmes: the Scientific and Management Advisory Board, the Executive Committee and the Operations Committee

Prof Dennis Smith​

Former Vice President, Pharmacokinetics, Pfizer, UK

Brian Cox

Prof Brian Cox

Emeritus Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University Of Sussex, UK. Former Head of Chemistry, Novartis Institutes of Biomedical Research, Horsham, UK.


Brigitta Tadmor

Dr Brigitta Tadmor

Former Vice President and Global Head, Education, Diversity and Inclusion, Novartis Institute for Biomedical Research, Cambridge, USA

Prof Paul Herrling​

Former Chair Novartis Institute for Tropical Diseases, and former Head of Pharma Research and Head of Corporate Research at Novartis, Switzerland

Prof Tanya Parish​

Senior Investigator, Center for Global Infectious Disease Research, Seattle Children’s Research Institute.

Affiliate Professor. Global Health, University of Washington.

Editor-in-Chief,  Microbiology (Microbiology Society).


Dr Tim Wells​

Chief Scientific Officer, Medicines for Malaria Venture, and former Head of Research at Serono, Switzerland

Peter Warner


Dr Peter Warner

Senior Program Officer at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, US. Former Vice President, Cardiovascular (CVGI) Innovative Science, AstraZeneca